La nef

PARIS 1er 2020
Contracting Authority : NOVAXIA
Architect : Anne Démians
Architect historic monuments : Pierre-Antoine Gatier
Project Manager : Maïté Casas
Team : Alain Sabounjian, Georges Daou, Mathieu Rouveix, Ariane Merle d'Aubigné, Antoine Leriche
Perspective : Georges Daou
Facade : VP & Green
High Environmental Quality : OTEIS
Surface area : 700 m²
Cost : 1,8 M€ HT
La nef Hôtel-Dieu

A PERFUME OF ETERNITY

It’s a passage, nothing but a passage on earth, but for her it’s an eternity.

Patient and silent, lanky, assuming with an elegant discretion its curves, the chapel of the Court Notre- Dame opens a new field of access to reflex prayer. Powdery and perfumed note, it leaves, behind her, the express and vaporous wake of these places built of stones and moisture, bathed in incense and holy water.

White and diaphanous, lying like the white Ophelia in an exquisite place (on the calm and black wave where the stars sleep, the white Ophelia floats like a big lily, very slowly, lying in her long sails / Arthur RIMBAUD), she makes to weigh, on the inner sky of the Hôtel -ieu, this new touch of translucency which makes it incredibly beautiful and conducive to the meditation tinted of the modern era.

 

 

A certain conception of poetic enthusiasm.

Because, less melancholy than romantic, it is surely of its time. Sweet and attentive, half-hearted to the pilgrim who came to take the pulse of her neighbor, the cathedral in pain, she unrolls her wooden floor at the site of the garden, then encouraging each of those who came for her (the Cathedral) to dispense piety, charity, forgiveness or hospitality.

Here, there is its large carcass built on the step of its large timber frame. An irregularly shifted succession of buttress arches whose tips resemble, but larger, the eye of a needle. And it is in the row of the chasers that a beam of top, of round section, slides which stiffens the arches and assembles a construction which is covered with a membrane made from a translucent material bearing the barbaric name of polypropylene.

The bases of a classic but living vocabulary are then drawn. It is the fragility of the envelope that only shocks. It paradoxically but spontaneously marks his time. An era of contemplation in which the lightness of spirits strangely joins the massiveness of bodies. Is there anything flippant about this? no, because to stop her gaze on her white-cloth look unfolded from the ridge to the ground, one might think that she would also be able to shelter anything other than prayer.

And if, lately, the press informed us that there was a tendency to clutter the forecourt of Notre-Dame with all the most extravagant hypotheses, we can see in it, the simple resolution of a simple question: how to welcome the pilgrims from all over the world without cluttering the sight of the most beautiful patient that the history of Christendom has left us?

La nef

PARIS 1er 2020
Maître d'ouvrage : NOVAXIA
Architecte : Anne Démians
ACMH : Pierre-Antoine Gatier
Directrice de projet : Maïté Casas
Équipe : Alain Sabounjian, Georges Daou, Mathieu Rouveix, Antoine Leriche
Perspectives : Georges Daou
BET Façade : VP & Green
BET HQE : OTEIS
SDP : 700 m²
Coût : 1,8 M€ HT
La nef Hôtel-Dieu

UN PARFUM D’ETERNITE

C’est un passage, rien qu’un passage sur terre, mais pour elle c’est une éternité.

Patiente et silencieuse, longiligne, assumant avec une élégante discrétion ses rondeurs, la chapelle de la Cour Notre Dame ouvre un nouveau champ d’accès à la prière réflexe. Note poudrée et parfumée, elle laisse, derrière elle, le sillage express et vaporeux de ces endroits construits en pierres et en humidité, baignés d’encens et d’eau bénite.

Blanche et diaphane, allongée comme la blanche Ophélie dans un endroit exquis (sur l’onde calme et noire où dorment les étoiles, la blanche Ophélia flotte comme un grand lys, très lentement, couchée en ses longs voiles/ Arthur RIMBAUD), elle fait peser, sur le ciel intérieur de l’Hôtel Dieu, cette touche nouvelle de translucidité qui la rend incroyablement belle et propice à la méditation teintée de l’ère moderne.

 

 

Une certaine conception de l’enthousiasme poétique.

Car, moins mélancolique que romantique, elle est sûrement de son époque. Douce et attentive, entrouverte au pèlerin venu pour prendre le pouls de sa voisine, la Cathédrale en souffrance, elle déroule son sol en bois à l’emplacement du jardin, encourageant alors chacun d’entre ceux qui sont venus pour elle (la Cathédrale) à dispenser piété, charité, pardon ou hospitalité. 

On y trouve, là, sa grande carcasse construite sur le pas de sa grande charpente de bois. Une succession décalée avec régularité d’arcs boutants dont les embouts ressemblent, mais en plus gros, au chas d’une aiguille. Et c’est dans l’enfilade des chas que se glisse une poutre de cime, de section ronde, qui raidit les arceaux et assemble une construction qui se couvre d’une membrane faite à partir d’une matière translucide portant le nom barbare de polypropylène.

Se dessinent alors les bases d’un vocabulaire classique mais vivant. C’est la fragilité de l’enveloppe qui choque seulement. Elle marque paradoxalement mais spontanément son temps. Une époque de contemplation dans laquelle la légèreté des esprits rejoint étrangement la massivité des corps. Y aurait-il quelque chose de désinvolte dans tout cela ? non, car à arrêter son regard sur son allure de drap blanc déployé du faîtage jusqu’au sol, on pourrait croire qu’elle serait aussi capable d’abriter tout autre chose que la prière.

Et si, ces derniers temps, la presse nous informait que tendance était à encombrer le parvis de Notre Dame avec toutes les hypothèses les plus extravagantes, on peut voir en celle-ci, la résolution simple d’une question simple : comment accueillir les pèlerins du monde entier sans encombrer la vue de la plus belle des patientes que l’histoire de la chrétienté nous aura laissée ?